In My Front Yard

Badge

It’s October so this isn’t exactly out of line, what happened to me was just someone not mentioning that decorations were placed outside. In my house we have a gardener and this person likes to decorate for all the holidays, doesn’t matter what it is we have decorations for said event. There are times where I wish I would be told what was going on, so that being said I have a story for you all today. Sit your butts in your chairs because it’s gonna be a good one.

This story takes place on October 1st in the middle of the night, poor little Wesley is sitting downstairs blogging while everyone else is sleeping. He had been out of work for some time so night was the only time he was awake anymore, the neighborhood he lives in was quiet all the time. People walked around in the mourning but never at night.

So he’s sitting at the computer typing as fast as can be, when his throat got dry, he needed something to drink. (I feel like I’m typing a Dr. Seuss book.) Picking up his computer he turned to place it on the seat when his eyes gazed up to a shape near the street. In his front yard stood a manlike physique that scared Wesley so bad he jumped to the ceiling.

Colored_Scared_Garfield_by_Cheppie

The investigation had start as he tip toed through the house to a window that’s closer to see who is out. As he got to the window he squinted and strained the darkness was no friend in discovering this man. Hiding behind the curtains as peaked out so quickly, the man hadn’t moved he didn’t care who had seen. Upon further analysis Wesley discovered a pole sticking into the man and as the wind blew straw waved it’s hands. 

Straw Scarecrow

I know this is wrong and I’m not proud of it, but in times of complete fright and I believe my life is in danger I become some religious type of person. It’s not that I mean to do it, it slipped from my lips though and I can’t catch myself before I ask god to help me. I imagine God is sitting there going “OH NOW YOU WANT MY HELP.” then he places his miracles into his pocket and just calmly says “not today.”. I would completely understand as well, I wouldn’t be angry because I hate when people actually do that. Now I don’t pray when I feel like I’m about to die, no I just say something like ‘God help me.’ and that’s it, I don’t even know which god I’m talking to.

But you better believe when I saw that man shaped scarecrow in my front yard some god heard me screaming.

giphy

This was part of LindaGHill’s Stream of Consciousness Saturdays check it out and join in

http://lindaghill.com/2014/10/17/the-friday-reminder-and-prompt-for-socs-october-1814/

7 thoughts on “In My Front Yard

  1. A few years ago, we planted mammoth sunflowers outside our bow window…bad idea, since they grew over 6 feet tall. I kept feeling this man leaning in, staring, only to find it was a sunflower…

    Hope you’re recovered now!

Leave a Reply

