Less of Wes: Day 2

What’s up?

I’m going to get a charlie horse, and if you don’t what that is then it’s basically a muscle spasm. It is excruciating painful and the way to get rid of it quickly is to walk around. Doing so though is just as painful and for about thirty seconds just seems to make it worse.

But enough complaining, no pain no gain, that is what the sadistic bastards tell me.

So today we revved it up a bit, yesterday was like our testing day. Like when you try to get everyone to coordinate on three, but right when you’re about to say three someone goes. “Is it on three or after three?” It’s on three, it’s always on three.

Starting Weight: 298 (Approximately, I used three scales. One said 297 another said 298 and the last also said 298.)

This is impressive to myself, not so much you all, but back about a year ago before my fathers heart attack I weighed about 337. So within a year I made some progress, but I was never trying to commit to losing weight. With my fathers one year anniversary since his heart attack I had been thinking to myself, what have I done?

Everyone I have told that I was doing this have all had the same reaction, “During the holidays? Really?” and I always have to give them the cold hard facts that if I wait after Christmas then ‘Less is Wes’ becomes a resolution.

We all know that 10/10 resolutions get broken within the first month or two. I can’t have that, if I make it through the holidays losing weight rather than gaining it, then I can do anything.

Workout

I pretty much killed myself in cardio today, which would explain the charlie horse complaint.

15 minutes on the treadmill going at a speed of 4.0 mph on an incline of 10. Now 4.0 mph sounds slow, and it is, but at that much of an incline it seems as if you are climbing a hill. It go me sweating and I could feel the damn burn.

15 minutes on the almighty StairMaster, I was going at a decent speed with about a seven on the resistance. Tomorrow I’m going to work on more upper body workouts rather than mainly cardio. My legs need the rest after two days of using them like that.

2 sets of 10 on the Chest Press with the weight on 80.

3 sets of 10 on the Abdominal Machines with weights on 80.

2 sets of 10 with a 20 lbs dumbbell with my right arm.

2 sets of 10 with a 20 lbs dumbbell with my left arm.

I went to the place really late so it was empty, there was a punching bag and some gloves. So I had some fun at the end and punched the bag for about a good 10 minutes. If only I was strong enough to send it flying like Captain America in ‘The Avengers’.

Workout time: An hour, if you count me screwing around with the punching bag.

____________________________________________________

Goal: 30 pounds in 6 months.

I will do that if not exceed that, but I wanted to set an attainable goal rather than place an unrealistic one.

Hope you all have a good night and a Happy Thanksgiving, I’ll be posting a bunch of stuff tomorrow just cataloging my day. Hope you all enjoy.

Now I’m going to go cry and over react to the pain in my legs, should be fun.

5 thoughts on “Less of Wes: Day 2

  1. Congrats on working out and sticking to your goal – I am some circles with people had to watch what they ate so they could heal from an illness -it was a while ago – but not eating certain foods was crucial for healing – anyhow – what many folks did was they ate their healthy foods before holiday parties and never went anywhere hungry- whey protein isolate Sri is / and sometimes soy protein – depends on the person – cos I actually like the hemp protein too – but a good protein drink is so satisfying and you may know this already – but the right amount of protein (absorbable and with the proper amino acids) is crucial for post workout recovery and all body system function – so be sure to get enough amino acids – also – a good calcium magnesium supplement (with manganese) will reduce cramps and also satisfy – get enough healthy fats too – and getting g through the holidays can be done while wolfing out and watch int food intake – you can do it and your health is worth it!!! Congrats and In our groups we never thought about what we were missing out on – we just kept focused on the real prize – which was feeling strong and alert and rebuilding our body terrain! This is. Side note – but some folks get so stupid at the holidays with indulgence and almost escape – so sometimes it is good to just fast from certain things even if not on diet – sometimes just good mindfulness and life skills – ya know? Best wishes Wes

  2. Proud of you! I’m still going to call you Little One because you’re younger & you’re getting “littler” I know that’s not a real word but do I give a _____ Um Nope! 😂 Keep that shit up! You’ve got this!

Leave a Reply

